When the course is opened from the course catalogue, the Enroll button will appear under the name of the course. Click the button to enroll on the course. After this, the button turns into the Cancel enroll button. You can cancel your registration with this button until the course administrator accepts or rejects your registration.
The status of your registrations can be seen in the Dashboard’s Messages > Notifications screen.